top of page

The Chakra System

The Chakra system originated in India during 1500-500 B.C. and was documented in one of the oldest religious texts called the Vedas; the Indonesian culture passed down this information orally throughout generations. This oral knowledge was eventually captured and expounded on to bring this knowledge into the western nations. Let’s first introduce a standard definition of the Chakra.: “A chakra (pronounced “cha”-“kra” with a resounding “ch”) is a center of energy. Originating from Sanskrit, it literally means “wheel” by association with its function as a vortex of spinning energy interacting with various physiological and neurological systems in the body. Chakras are energy centers within the human body that help to regulate all its processes, from organ function to the immune system and emotions. We can commonly count 7 chakras positioned throughout your body, from the base of your spine to the crown of your head. Each chakra has its own vibrational frequency, that is depicted through a specific chakra color, and governs specific functions that help make you, well, human.” (, 2021).

Several different ideologies of the chakra system are established, however, most of the ideas and practices, support the seven major chakra system. The basic definition can be a bit confusing, and appear to align with the mystical primarily, however, each identified chakra is a multilevel region or area. My experience working with the chakras clearly demonstrates that there is a metaphysical aspect, a physical aspect, and a physiological aspect to each of these regions. I would define chakras simply as energy centers that resonate with the conditions of the underlying organs or nerve centers throughout the body. Healers, such as myself, are empowered with the ability to reorganize scattered energy in these areas or to balance the chakras. These chakras are part of an energetic flow throughout the body, and when any of these individual chakras are not resonating properly, they become out of balance and often cause sickness, dysfunction, and disease. The overall goal is to maintain these energy centers in a state of harmonics to allow the proper flow and operation of the human body.

One source suggests that there are 114 different chakras ("What is the origin of the chakra system?," 2013) throughout the body; this makes sense because the body has a multitude of organs, structures, and nerves, which are energy at their base state. I would like to briefly discuss each of the seven major chakras, their functions, body structures, and representative colors; I will start at the top and work our way down the body. The crown chakra is located at the top of the head, is normally annotated as a white color, resonates with the processing of the human brain, and is one of the main connections to the spiritual world. The third eye chakra is located on the forehead centered just above and between the eyes and is aligned with purple. The third eye is not just a metaphorical term; this structure is scientifically called the pineal gland, which is a pea-sized gland located in the center of our brain resembling the same makeup as our normal eyes; this is where we process our dreams, intuition, and wake/sleep cycles. Located in the neck is the throat chakra, which resonates with the thyroid organ, and is considered an area dedicated to communication and healing. The heart chakra basically speaks for itself, representing love and compassion, is annotated by green, and resonates with the operation of the heart. The heart chakra is the central point that connects the upper and lower chakras, or in other words, the etheric versus the carnal. Just below the center of the sternum lies the solar plexus chakra, which is represented by yellow, is considered the energy center of the body; it is named after a very complex bundle of nerves located in the solar plexus region of the body. My term for this chakra is “your personal sun”. Located roughly around the beltline of the body, is the sacral chakra, represented by orange, and resonates with the reproductive system of the body, this chakra processes emotional and sexual energies. The final chakra is the root chakra, identified by red, and resonates with lower sacral nerves; this chakra processes the more animalistic characteristics such as survival and connection to the earth. The normal flow of energy through the chakra system is from the root through the crown, with the heart connecting the upper and lower chakras.

The chakra system for me bears great importance in relation to the proper function of the human body. My greatest sense in the healing process is the ability to “see” with my hands and each chakra resonates their individual qualities, such as strength, width, thickness, openness. Understanding the quality of each chakra can help to identify what type of dysfunction may be going on energetically, spiritually, and physically. Although the ability to see with my hands is a novel gift, conversation with the client is still important to discover what level(s) of being they will need to address to facilitate proper chakra function. It is sometimes helpful to analyze the condition of chakras by using aura cameras, especially when these images are captured prior to and following a healing session; although validation is not necessary for me any longer, it truly helps the client to see that readjusting the chakras is a real phenomenon.

Being in balance, for any living being, is an important aspect of the health and operation of the body, and the energy centers, or the chakras of the body need to be open and fully operational to allow the bodily energy to flow properly. Becoming aware of the imbalances within the chakra system can greatly enhance the knowledge of the underlying issues and provide people with the necessary tools to use on their healing path. Additionally, many cultures believe that our body connection to the soul is processed and is embedded within this chakra system. According to the authors of Living Deeply, “The soul is anchored at two centers in the energy body: the crown chakra next to the pineal gland, and the heart chakra.” (Schlitz et al., 2008, p. 26). If our soul is truly anchored within our energetic chakra system, it seems imperative that we maintain this energy body in a proper state of balance and harmony.


(2021, August 31).

Seifer, N., & Vieweg, M. (2009). When the soul awakens: The path to spiritual evolution and a new world era.

What is the origin of the chakra system? (2013, March 26). Indigo Massage & Wellness – In Touch with You.

14 views0 comments


bottom of page